Just a City Boy…

For those of you who know the song, you are probably humming this song from Journey. I can’t help but confess that I’m a Journey fan. Confession is good for the soul.

I was just thinking about my life, and the words “just a city boy” came to mind. That’s me…just a city boy from Portsmouth, VA that God decided to call into ministry. I always wondered why God would use me. When I think about how shy and backward I was, I never imagined that I would stand in front of people and preach or sing. I asked God to show me why He would call me out of all people. According to I Corinthians 1, it is for God’s glory.

My first public speech contained more stuttering than words. I feared getting up in front of people and saying anything. I never thought I would lead worship in churches ranging 25 to 600 or pastor a church of 100.

Now, my ministry is more personal. I ministering to hospice patients and families and those who read this blog. I get the occasional phone call or message from someone seeking direction or prayer. Whatever I am called on to do, I still count it a privilege and joy.

You may think you are just this or just that, but God can do great things in and through you for His glory. That’s what He did with “just a city boy”.

2 thoughts on “Just a City Boy…

Add yours

  1. Thank you for your encouraging words! I am glad you are where God wants you. I get disouraged myself since I deal with bad depression and not sure what direction I should be going. God bless you and yours!!!

    1. Jeanette,

      I struggle with depression also and went untreated for several years. I finally received proper treatment almost 4 years ago. God has seen me through many dark valleys. Please know I am praying for you that He will deliver and direct.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

