Can Ministry Be Insignificant?

I’ve been blown away by how some people think that you’re a big time child of God if you are a pastor or a paid ministerial staff member while everyone else is beneath them. Last time I checked, we are all on equal level. Each one of us possesses a calling and a responsibility to fulfill that.

As I have served as a hospice chaplain, I worked alongside people who are clearly called to do what they do. They have a passion for it and give themselves wholeheartedly to it. That includes the nurses, aides, social worker, etc.

I was tempted to think that what I do now is less significant because I’m not so much in the public eye, but I’m still called and what I do is significant to God. I am reminded daily of how God uses me when I go into a home of a hospice patient or when people tell me how God used this blog in my life.

So, let me make this clear: what you do for God is significant! The fact that God created you shows that you are significant! You have a purpose, and don’t you dare compare your purpose to that of someone else! Your contribution is just as important as that of the next person, even if yours might be behind the scenes. God sees it. So keep that in mind and continue to do it for God’s glory. One day He will say, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”

2 thoughts on “Can Ministry Be Insignificant?

Add yours

  1. Right on! A few scriptures come to mind. Colossians 3 says everything we do, word and deed, must be done with full effort and in service to God. So no matter how small the task, we still serve the Lord. 1 Corinthians 12 also tells us that all of us make up the body of Christ, even the “unpresentable” parts. In other words, the church maintenance crew is just as much a part of the body of and in service to Christ as the preacher. And 1 Corinthians 3:7-9 provides: “So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labor. For we are co-workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building.” Great post!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

