Hush Yo Mouth

image

Confession time again! The one thing that has probably gotten me in more trouble in my 35 years of living has been my mouth. That may surprise some of you, while others may be nodding your head. I received my first detention in school for something I said. I had to learn to choose words more carefully over time. If most of us were to acknowledge our faults, we would have to admit we struggle with choosing our words wisely.

Some of you might believe the philosophy, “If I think it, then I should go ahead and say it.” That is, by far, one of the most foolish things I have ever heard. This is what the Bible says about it: “A fool vents all his feelings, But a wise man holds them back” (Proverbs‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NKJV‬‬).

When it comes to words, don’t say the first thing that comes to mind. The cleanup will be a lot worse. Take the high road, choose your words wisely, and create less drama for you and other people. Another thought: some things are best left unsaid!

8 thoughts on “Hush Yo Mouth

Add yours

  1. I know I know…it’s so hard for me. Although I’m known for saying what’s on my mind..good or bad.. I’m blunt some say. Some say sincere..others idk because they won’t tell me to my face..haha..but yes I have to work on this. Thanks for sharing. 😊

  2. This is tough but you’re right. Things said in anger can be terribly hurtful. I’m not witty so I think before I talk just because real life cannot be edited like a text message. But be sure when I finally say something and it cuts deep it was meant to do so. I don’t like causing others pain, so I rather be silent until I’ve found a creative way to manage hurt feelings or anger — to express my thoughts in a constructive way — to find a solution or middle ground, not cause more hurt or pain.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

