One Day at a Time

Since I resigned my vocational church job in September, things have been interesting. I have preached twice, led worship a few times, and played the piano where needed. On most Sundays, I’m worshiping at a different church. As much as I would like to land in a particular church, God has not made it clear. Until then, I will seek His plan and then surrender when He makes it clear.

Life is all about one day at a time. I was introducing myself to a new hospice family recently. I shared my story briefly. I said something shocking in that visit: “I can’t walk in yesterday’s or tomorrow’s obedience; I must walk in today’s obedience.” It sounds simple, and it is. But I struggle with wanting the full picture NOW!

Some people have tried to tell me that God won’t use me now that I am a divorced and remarried man. I told God a long time ago that I would let Him decide that. So when opportunities like the one pictured below come along, I gladly walk through that door God has opened with the full understanding that God didn’t “uncall” me. He will use me as He chooses, and I will obey.

image

11 thoughts on “One Day at a Time

Add yours

  1. Praise God! I love your boldness. We all need to be bold for Christ. You know, I think about the 12 disciples and how God used them individually in their calling. Each of them had a personality trait that may have gotten them in trouble. Trust your walk in Him and God will deliver. Thank you so very much for sharing. Please continue because I love reading your posts and I get encourage from them. By the way, the physical church is where we serve each other but the body of believers is the true church.

  2. “But I struggle with wanting the full picture NOW!”

    We all do! I keep reminding my children that God never stops moving, even if we don’t see Him moving things with our eyes. I remind myself of the same thing, day by day and hour by hour (sometimes minute by minute). We are children, after all.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

