19 years ago today

I don’t know if May 4, 1997 was significant for you, but it was for me. I had been fighting what I knew God wanted for my life. On this day in 1997, I surrendered to the call to ministry. I had no idea where the journey would take me, but I knew who called the shots.

A few months later, God opened the door for me to go to Bible college and work for a church about 1 1/2 hours away. They were so good to me. However, God redirected my path and called me to rest for 6 months. I found myself in music ministries with dual roles in the areas of youth, Christian school, senior adults, and discipleship. That changed in 2012 when I was called by a church to be its pastor. I found myself having to resign after 11 months due to church struggles and my own disintegrating family. God was gracious to allow me to serve a few more churches as worship leader. Once again, last September brought about more change: God called me to resign my church position. I am now remarried and experiencing God’s blessing in a different kind of ministry – hospice chaplaincy.

These years haven’t been easy, but God has sustained me through it all. Church members and pastors have betrayed me, but my Lord hasn’t. The bumps in the road (and collisions) have shaped me into who I am today.

Maybe you are reading this and comtemplating a call to ministry. Don’t fight God! You will be miserable just like I was. When you surrender, you find the peace that comes from obeying God. You may feel like you can’t do it. You can’t in your own power. God empowers you, and He receives all the glory. So today, I celebrate once again another year of service for my Savior who gave His life for me.

2 thoughts on “19 years ago today

Add yours

  1. You know, my story is not the same in details but I know God called me to the ministry. I am still not sure though how other than what I am doing now through the blog. I have never fit in in the churches I have been a part of. I served as a teacher for middle school youth for a short season. I reflect and see a lot of one-on-one ministry in my past. I must say that this blog offers me a certain freedom and release that I didn’t utilize before. I can write from my heart and encourage others while honoring God. Not sure where He is taking me from here but He does.

    1. I understand trying to find my place in a church now. I have been on staff in a church since I was 15. Now, I am awaiting my next church assignment from the Lord. Blogging is a great way to minister. God has used it to continue to give me a “voice” during this transition. I know that God will guide you. The hardest part is waiting.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

