Why Do I Blog?

I have always loved to write. However, the passion for writing can easily fade when you spend several years in school where writing is a necessity. Because of that, I remained silent in written form and made up for it in preaching and teaching. When I no longer had the platform to teach and preach, I started this.

I’m not exactly sure who reads this other than my wife and my WordPress followers who comment. I used to have a lot of Facebook friends to read, but I think they’re pretty used to me by now. I have a few who look me up on search engines (aka stalkers😂). Despite who may take the time to read this, what do I want to accomplish by this?

My greatest desire is to challenge the thinking of Christians. I have always desired for believers to live at a higher and hunger for that. For many years, I settled for mediocrity in my Christian life. That is no more! I will not stifle the passion within me to know God in His fullness and help as many as I can do the same. God wired me that way, and I will not be unfaithful to that.

I know I have a tendency to poke at issues that are sensitive in the church. That’s because I want to stir people to think about another side of these issues rather than just believing something they have been told. I had ultra conservative preferences shoved down my throat for quite a while. Then I returned to my desire to be biblical rather than culturally traditional (notice I said culturally not biblically traditional). 

While my denomination might try to restrict my mouth, they can’t restrict what I type. Jesus didn’t give His life for denominational Christianity. Neither do I. I hope that none of my readers do things because that’s what a good Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterian, Episcopalian, or anyone else does. I hope you do what Jesus wants you to do. In the end, He will be the only One who matters.  My prayer is that we also strive to live a life and hear Him say in the end, “Well done!”

4 thoughts on “Why Do I Blog?

Add yours

  1. Amen! We need some powerful voices in the world. Long ago someone called me a benign Christian, intended as a compliment, but I thought, benign, that’s like a harmless tumor! It was convicting, so if nothing else, Lord, don’t ever let me become benign. 🙂

  2. Matt,
    Your topic in this fine post, on standing one’s ground, calls to mind Saint Thomas More. When he was being pressured by peers to accept King Henry VIII’s unlawful marriage in the eyes of the Catholic Church, these peers said to him: “Why don’t you sign that you agree and come along with us for fellowship?” St. Thomas replied: “And when you go to heaven for doing your conscience, and I go to hell for not doing mine, will you come with me for fellowship?”
    Whether we plant a garden or repair a heart, all is pleasing to God; so long as we offer it up to His honor and glory with good intent in our hearts according to His will.
    -Alan

  3. Right on! my brother.
    One of the things that’s quite upsetting to see is Christians who put church doctrine, etc. ahead of the Word. That’s stifling!
    It’s for us as disciples (learners) to pursue and give way to truth regardless of cost. It takes humility to accept truth.

    Looking forward to seeing others slaying ‘sacred cows’.

  4. I blog my heart. I decided when I committed to writing that I would speak as the Lord gives me in my heart. One of the best things about having your own real and true relationship with Christ is that He does not cause you to hurt others. Anyone who takes offense will truly not be taking offense at me personally but is either convicted by Christ or condemned by the enemy. That said, another way to frame that statement is that we must speak the Word in season and out of season and leave the rest in the Lord’s hands.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

