What Is a Lie?


I know this sounds like a stupid question, but the answers vary widely in this day when anything goes. Here is how Wikipedia defines it: 

“A lie is a statement that the stating party believes to be false and that is made with the intention to deceive.”

What I want to examine is why people lie.

1. People lie because they have something to hide. It might be an affair, financial fraud, or anything that is viewed negatively. Nevertheless, the liar wants to hide the facts.

2. People lie because they’re too cowardly to face the consequences. They don’t mind doing the crime, but don’t you dare mention doing the time. Everything has consequences, and they will come back to bite you.

3. People lie to make themselves look good. It may be about their education, “character”, or some way to make themselves look nice so people will like them. If I see through your lie, you have lost my respect. I will tolerate you, but I will have a hard time trusting you.

4. People lie to keep from hurting your feelings (and keep themselves from looking mean in the process). You may be a horrible singer, but a liar will tell you how great you are and tell the first person who will listen about how your singing damaged their hearing. 

5. People will lie to get things done. I’ve had bosses manipulate me into thinking one thing so they could get what they want.

Lying is NEVER justified!!! It violates God’s character. God is truth! When we deceive, we are doing the same exact thing the devil did in the Garden of Eden. So what if you might hurt someone’s feelings? Speak the truth in love and for their benefit! Tell the truth about yourself. If you were the nastiest hooker in the county, admit it! If the truth will get you in trouble, have the guts to admit it and take the consequences like a big boy or girl! Leave the truth out in the open so you won’t have to hide one thing after the other. Lies are like snowballs going downhill. They will get bigger, and you won’t be able to keep up with the damage control. Bottom line: tell the truth at all times and go to bed with a clean conscience.

14 thoughts on “What Is a Lie?

Add yours

  1. When I gave my testimony at church last year I said in the first paragraph all of who I was and what I had done. Just a few words but you get the picture. If you can’t admit who you were or are, then you’re not ready…for what? I don’t know. Maybe not ready to accept the truth. You can read my testimony if you wish, it’s the first post I ever posted. Testimony of a Faithless Daughter.

  2. At the moment, I am facing, still, the greatest trials in my life, having to face someone I thought could be trusted. And instead, I encountered a liar and a betrayer, and a thief, who took away what belongs to me and damaged my family because of her act.

    If I can forgive her in time, I can never know. But this is why I have Jesus in my life. To ask Him every day in my prayers to help me to heal my heart and to give me a new heart so that I can love every day.

    I know I am strong and I hold on to my faith. The Lord provides.

    Amen!

    1. In ministry, I encountered pastors and church leaders I thought I could trust. The difficult part is that the process of forgiveness and healing takes longer than we want. I resigned a pastorate when I went through a marital separation and divorce. Because of the situation, many of the people I pastored chose to sensationalize the story and defame me rather than love me through the hardest time of my life. I have finally come to the point where it no longer stings. It took over two years, but God has a way of healing our wounds. May you find His healing and grace.

  3. The sad thing about lying is we fool ourselves into thinking we are doing the right thing. But like David the sin just eats away at our very soul and destroys relationships. The very thing we are trying to protect is the one things a lie destroys. Great post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

