I Am Replaceable

I think we have all had someone say to us, “What would I do without you?” That statement can so easily make negative pride swell within us. The truth is that God will use someone else if he doesn’t use me. 

There is a negative trend in Christianity where churches are built upon pastors than on Christ. I placed my identity in my job as a pastor or worship leader and my “success”. When I knew that the enemy had devoured my family and I would no longer pastor the church, I prepared the church in my preaching that they could easily do without me and that if I lost everything, I would still have Jesus. I didn’t understand how deeply I would need to cling to this truth.

The bottom line is that God delights when you are humble. Your arrogance might impress some people, but some event will come along and knock the wind out of your sails. 

If you think that the world can’t do without you, remember the truth. It is an honor and joy that God would use you. Enjoy every day with the knowledge of that truth!

6 thoughts on “I Am Replaceable

Add yours

  1. Absolutely true. He allows these events to happen for our good. It can be tough as ministry is part of your identity. However, I can see that God is doing a deep work in your heart. I don’t know if I’m on the right track here or not.. But being brokenness and emptied of all that we used to esteem highly, ministry, position, friends who are pastors and leaders- associations, having all those removed from our lives is tough, but when we seek God- to fill us with Him, Just Him.. He is glorified. As John Piper wrote God is most glorified when we are most satisfied in Him.
    Well written posts! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Amen. God Bless you my dear friend.
    I believe There is nothing more powerful than a prayer done in humble heart at the weakest point of our life. So keep on praying for everything you desire, and you will be fulfilled. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

