Nine Months


Nine months ago today, I resigned my previous church ministry. I had no idea what I was going to do, but God made it clear that I must go. The funny thing about it was the rumors that followed. You may even develop some of your own as I share the journey.

When I resigned the church, my wife and I were courting but had not set a date. We knew it would be close, but not just a few days away. The pastor with whom we consulted was ready to perform the wedding on the spot because he had counseled my wife through her previous divorce. I resign on Sunday, get married on Friday…sounds fishy, doesn’t it? My boss jokingly said she was tracking down the days if we announced a baby anytime soon. A little over two months later, we found out we were five weeks along. Just got better, right? 

The title would have never given anyone the idea that I would take a minute to talk about rumors and slander. God hates it! But I have discovered one thing – people believe what they want to believe no matter what. The important thing is that you can go to sleep with a pure conscience because your heart is clean. 

I knew that people would talk when these things happened, but I knew I obeyed God every step of the way. Forget what others are saying (easier said than done)! God knows the truth, and He will reveal everything one day. Rest assured in that truth today!

14 thoughts on “Nine Months

Add yours

  1. Hardest thing to do, but I did it when my whole family created rumors that were not true about my older son. I stayed quiet and let God handle it…and slowly but surely truth came to light. The old me would’ve gone out for vengeance, but I know now that vengeance is not mine but His.
    You stay true to God and He will stay true to you. 😊👍❤☝

  2. LOL! I love this. How romantic. Let’s give them something to talk about, indeed!

    I’m sorry that gossip and slander exist and that people can be so hungry for scandal. I think that’s a shame because the very nature of the gospel is downright scandalous. It’s supposed to be! So the woman at the well with five husbands or the adulterous about to be stoned, or the rag tag assortment of disciples Jesus Christ Himself chose, that is who and what we are as people, that is who God loves!

  3. Hi Matthew! I have a word for you in love and with love from the Lord.

    Regarding your saying, “The title would have never given anyone the idea that I would take a minute to talk about rumors and slander,” the word is “Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes’ and your ‘No’ be ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.”

    Now from me: the world we live in is frequently facetious, sarcastic, etc., but Christ is not. Thanks for “putting off the old man, putting in the new man”, and not bopping the messenger over the head! 😊 God bless you.

  4. Oh dear … I’d been through that too, with my husband.
    I was pregnant five weeks when we got to do the wedding plan.
    But because of that reason, we had to hurry it up.
    People think however they want or like, and it is something you cannot control.
    But that is the time when you got to learn the real heart of that particular human being or beings.
    What matters is that you are the one that is happy. Just as you said up there, the important is that you can go to bed with a pure conscience for your heart it clean!

    Wish you all the “Happiness”, brother!
    (✿◠‿◠)

  5. Dear friend if your conscience is clear to God then its absolutely okay. Because God sees your effort not ore like the result, because he is the result. Amen. Hallelujah God Bless you my friend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

