Lovingly Conservative 


Since I began to study the Bible for myself rather than drink the koolaid I was being served, my theological and political views took a conservative slant. I could not arrive to these conclusions simply because this was what a church or Christian school endorsed. I had to discover that God set forth these principles in Scripture.

The problem with many conservatives is a superior attitude about them being right and you being wrong. Then comes the judgmentalism and condemnation. I found myself in that camp for a while, but I discovered that there is a balance between being bold in your stance yet loving in your presentation.

Ephesians 4:15 commands us to speak the truth in love. The forceful, Bible-thumping, hell-fire approach has turned many off. Romans 2 says the goodness of God leads people to repentance. I Corinthians 13 says that ministry done without love is worthless. God obviously puts a premium on love.

Jesus went to the cross because He loves us all. Love was His motivation and should be ours as we are His ambassadors. When my life is over, I want people to say that I ministered with love and pointed them to a loving Savior who can forgive anyone who will call upon Him.

If your approach has been mean and forceful, I encourage you to rethink your presentation. Let love drive what you do and how you do it. What if someone disagrees with you? Continue to love them. Pray for them. Maintain a good relationship. Disagree agreeably. 

Liberals are the ones who are presented as the loving ones. Why? Because conservatives have been hatefully delivering their message for years. It’s time that Bible-believers reclaim their status of loving like Jesus. Are you with me?

One thought on “Lovingly Conservative 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

