Lessons About Open Doors


Over the years in my ministerial life, I have had lots of open doors. Those increased as I hit my late 20s. I have learned some valuable lessons about those open doors. I hope these will enlighten or ring true with you.

  1. Not every open door comes from God. Some are to tempt you. You may sacrifice your family because you take that opportunity for more money or notoriety. In the day of “climbing the corporate ladder”, many make this mistake and regret the losses because they outweigh the gains.
  2. You can’t force doors open. I can’t tell you how many times I have tried that, especially in recent days. God has put a vision in my heart, but I have tried to force the door open. My flesh can’t stand that God won’t put His stamp of approval on my timing. However, I’m not the only one who is waiting on God right now. God knows what is best for me, but I want to get ahead of Him. Can you relate?

The hardest thing to do is wait. Modern philosophy says, “God helps those who help themselves”, so you better do something to help Him out. God is not going to bless your laziness, but He also won’t bless your efforts to act on His behalf.

If you are waiting on an open door in some area of your life, trust your loving Heavenly Father who is preparing and protecting you. One day He will say this, “I know your works. See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it; for you have a little strength, have kept My word, and have not denied My name” (Revelation‬ ‭3:8‬ ‭NKJV‬‬). 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

