Fight or Flight?


I have noticed a major difference in this generation compared to generations past. Previous generations knew what it was like to fight through life’s problems. This generation is quicker to run.

This thought came to mind as I saw another blog post that quoted Psalm 55:6 – “I said, ‘Oh, that I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and be at rest’.” Our natural instinct is to run from life’s problems. The psalmist continues by talking about how he will pray and find deliverance and victory.

When I was facing my divorce, I counseled with another pastor who went through a similar situation. He played devil’s advocate. After a while, he said, “No wonder you don’t know how to fight. You grew up as an only child.” That stuck with me. 

What are you going through today? Are you going to tuck your tail and walk away, or are you going to fight? Are you going to roll over and give in or fight with all you have plus what the Lord gives you? 

Don’t wish you could fly away! That’s not reality. Determine in your heart and mind to arise victorious over your circumstances. On the other side, give God the glory!

13 thoughts on “Fight or Flight?

Add yours

  1. It isn’t necessarily a generation thing. I’m 41 and tend to run. Anyone who reads my memoir/blog would understand why though. [The last thing I want is more drama/conflict/turmoil.]

  2. As a firefighter, a lesson learned is that there are times when you take the battle to the fire. Other times, it is a surround and drown situation where the damage has already been done and a full entrance assault will only endanger lives. In either case, the fire still must be fought, but wisdom determines the best method.

  3. I don’t think being an only child has anything to do with it. I am completely 50/50 on this subject. If it’s for something I truly believe is right, or it’s something I really, really want, then I will fight till the death! In certain circumstances though, it is better to turn the other cheek, and in away isn’t that fighting for a better life, a better self? I don’t know what the circumstances were for your divorce, and I do believe that every marriage that can be saved should be. However, I don’t believe God would want us to stay in a marriage that was loveless, or in a situation that makes us miserable. You are a minister, so you know WAY more about this than I do, but these are my thoughts.

    1. You make some very valid points. My only child reference applied to me personally and does not go across the board. Without disclosing the circumstances surrounding my divorce publicly, I did the best I knew how at that time but lost the battle. There are times in life when you need to choose your battles. I appreciate your thoughts.

      1. Yeah, I got that. I should have been more clear, I don’t think it was fair for someone to say that to you. It looks like you now have a wonderful wife, and a beautiful family, so things worked out for the best! 🙂

  4. So true. We walk away from challenges instead of seeing them as God’s training grounds for us. We quit a tough marriage instead of letting it sanctify us. We quit a tough job instead of letting it make us stronger. We quit college under the guise of “it’s not me”. We quit a valuable friendship saying “don’t be around those who drag you down” without realizing that through their honest criticism, they were actually trying to lift us up!

    My generation has such a hard time valuing sanctification, and we have a hard time accepting that God chooses fire, not comfort, to refine us. I hope we can change this.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

