Are You Ready to Lose Your Life?

Once again, I know you think I’ve lost it. I did that a long time ago. Let me clarify that I’m not talking about dying. This isn’t my way of asking you if you know where you’re going when you die. There is a principle here that is straight from the Bible that most don’t understand unless they have walked with the Lord for a while.

Jesus made an interesting statement in Matthew 10:39 – “He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.” This doesn’t seem to make much sense, yet the New Testament resounds with the theme that you and I must die to self. We should not be on the throne of our life; Christ should be.

I became to reflect on how this applies to me personally. This principle became real to me when I lost my career, family, and the life I had known. The question at hand was “Will I continue to serve the Lord?” I did. It was in losing my life that I really found it. Jesus is sweeter to me more now than ever. I had to come to a point where Jesus was all that matters. 

Have you come to that point yet? If everything you cherish was stripped from you, would He be enough? 

7 thoughts on “Are You Ready to Lose Your Life?

Add yours

  1. My life as I knew it was taken from me in a violent way 15 years ago.. and then I should’ve turned to Him..but no I continued on the road of destruction…which I now call destruction of self…only recently, 2 years ago, did I understand…and have arrived at that point where nothing but Him matters. My kids and I have been under attack by the enemy but guess what…with Him, I feel fully protected and that through the eye of the storm..He’s right there with us. Amen? Amen!!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

