I Can’t Quit


When the circumstances of my life were plummeting, I was like a deer in headlights. I had no clue what to do. I knew that divorce was imminent, and that divorced and pastor don’t do well in many circles. I immediately began to seek counsel. I was sure that all the “religious professionals” would tell me to quit and get a job scraping gum off school desks or something. The amazing thing was they all said, “Don’t give up on your calling!” For the first week, I was going to give up on ministry and simply exist until I died. Then came a breaking point. I told God that I will continue to serve Him, and if He didn’t want to use me then He could stop me. The way ministry is expressed in my life has taken on different expressions, but I still have not given up on my calling. The modern day Pharisees and Saducees may read this and criticize, but I can’t quit on what God birthed in my heart many years ago.

God has a word for some reader today. You are ready to quit on something God has put within you. It isn’t happening fast enough for you (I understand that feeling). God promised Abraham and Sarah that they would have a son named Isaac. He didn’t come fast enough. This is a word for me too. God follows through with His promises. We must be faithful, even when the timing kills us. All I know is I CAN’T AND WON’T QUIT!!!!!!!

10 thoughts on “I Can’t Quit

Add yours

  1. Often the winners of life comes to those who do not quit. They may fall down but still get up and continue. Your continuing in your calling, despite the difficulties, speaks to your character, Matthew.

  2. God has a word for some reader today.

    Thank you, Lord for guiding me to this post for you know Lord, I was about to throw the towel in. This post has encouraged me not to quite even though I’m not quite sure what my calling is and would like to know faster than God is willing to reveal to me, but I have decided to surrender to God’s timing after reading this post for God knows whats best. 🙂

  3. We’ve made divorce the unforgivable sin, or I should say “modern day Pharisees and Sadducees” have. I personally know human beings who are so insensitive to people that carry the label divorced as if they had cursed God and died. We’ve all “cursed” God, and should have died. Why can’t they see that?

    I loved this post dear man.

  4. 13 years ago, someone spoke hope into me and I’m still around. I thank God for them every day. 13 years from now, someone (or more) will be thanking God for you for speaking hope into them.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

