God Won’t Make You Love Him

“Love so undeniable, I can hardly speak Peace so unexplainable I can hardly think As You call me deeper still into love.” These lyrics from the song “Good, Good Father” are my absolute favorite. These few words say SO much about our God.

He does not force us to love Him, but His love strongly draws us. For this boy at the age of six, it was difficult to deny the love of God that was poured out on the cross for my sin. I knew that I needed what only He could provide. He drew me to Him at the age of six and draws me deeper into His love. Am I saying He loves me more now? Not at all! He loves me the same now as He did before I ever physically existed. 

God won’t make you love Him, but He will pursue you. You and I are the ones who make the choice to reject or embrace His love. 

As you tell others about their need for Christ, may I remind you that “the goodness of God leads to repentance” (Romans 2). We do have to point out sin, but we should emphasize the love that overcomes sin…that our good God made a way for us to be with Him when we deserved the worst. 

The love of God to a sinner like me is the most humbling thought. But God didn’t leave me in my sin. As He drew me, I moved toward Him. Will you draw deeper into the knowledge of His love?

One thought on “God Won’t Make You Love Him

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

