Am I the Only One Who Is Afraid?


I know that many of you may be wondering where I’m going with this. Some may think I’m going political or addressing some major concern of the day. This is actually pretty general.

Are you afraid of something? Failure? Poverty? Making a bad decision? Disappointing someone you love? Many of us have fears if we are honest. We struggle with faith, believing that God will fulfill His promises. We worry because it is second nature to us, and we often allow fear to paralyze us rather than motivate us to believe God for the miraculous.

This post stems from my own personal fears. God is doing and has been doing something in my life for some time. I must be honest and say I’m afraid of failure. It would be a giant leap of faith, and the fears are numerous. I’m afraid I may get ahead of God and force something that may not be in His timing.

I know I am not the only one who is facing fears. What am I doing now and what would I recommend to you? Pray through the fear! Test God’s hand! Praise through the fear! It aligns your perspective. Push through until you see the answer! It may happen differently than you expected, but you will gain a spiritual victory on the other side of this.

Remember, my friend, that God does not give us a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7). Unhealthy fear is always a tool of the devil to keep you living your mediocre, mundane life. God is calling you to an adventure of obedience. Are you willing to follow Him all the way?

18 thoughts on “Am I the Only One Who Is Afraid?

Add yours

  1. When the perfect comes He cast out piece by piece, bit by bit the fear, doubt and insecurity by showing His faithfulness in every choice and experience until it is finished within us. We gain the experiential knowledge of the Power of His might. He blesses us in purging everything that the merchandiser has placed within us. So when the adversary comes he will have nothing to take hold of.
    Fear is a smoke screen, a device used to keep us in bondage. In reality the adversary has bee

  2. Been striped of His power and can do nothing without the Lords permission. Book of Daniel.
    This being said if the Lord is allowing satan to shake and sift us it is for our betterment not our destruction.
    Amen

  3. Amen! Fear is a powerful problem.

    Something to keep in mind, sometimes when we are afraid of failure, it isn’t fear of failure at all, it is actually fear of success. That one will really make you crazy, but it’s often true. Failure we know, it’s familiar and comfortable, but success is uncharted territory.

  4. I hear you, brother! Fear has been my “gas” most of my life! It’s incredibly…motivating! And don’t worry about wrecking God’s timing. I’m just spit-balling here, but I don’t think you can out-flank God deliberately, let alone accidentally! I always say, due to free will, not even God can steer a car that isn’t rolling. I think we need to keep our foot on the gas. God will set the course, pump the breaks…whatever’s needed.

  5. As I was reading, I thought I had been caught up in some space-continuum-time travel thing and had traveled back in time to a me 20 years ago. But I looked at the calendar, and saw it was still 2016. I have “been there, done that, got the T-shirt to prove it’. Through Grace, I overcame my fears, and still today, I know I can count on Him to see me through! Even at this stage in my life (60 years old), I find God challenging me even more, to risk new things–even if I fall flat on my face–because I know if I fall flat on my face, I will be able to look up and see a hand and hear that voice say, “Good try, now let me help you up and let’s try this again!”

  6. I truly needed this message. I desire to create clothing for women who desire to feel beautiful without showing their whole bodies, but I fear that in a world where being almost naked is now the standard of popular fashion, I will fail. Don’t get me wrong, my clothing is not made for nuns nor quakers, but it is not for the woman who associates sexy with revealing. Many have told me that since I am just starting out, I should go with what’s popular until I make it, but my heart and my sense of fashion is not pushing me in that direction. However, I have caused fear to halt my progress. I am steadily praying and asking God to lead me.

    1. Stand your ground! Don’t let people kill the vision God has given you! In His time, it will come to pass. I encourage you to read the comment left by Keith Haney on this post. I am having to push past fear in this season and let God shut the doors. I pray that the Holy Spirit will allow courage to rise up within you. Remember that the Scripture says, “The righteous are as bold as a lion.” May we walk in that truth!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

