How to Treat Your Pastor at Christmas

I have been in many churches who know how to treat their pastors well, but some do not. Many search committees go after some guy from out of town, move him far from family and friends, only to treat him like he and his family do not exist (except when they have a complaint or want you to earn your keep). The same applies for those who serve in associate roles. I am almost opposed to churches calling pastors from far away, but I digress.

How do you plan to treat your pastor and his family this Christmas? Do you hope that they will go out of town so you don’t have to be nice? Do you plan to find out how they will spend Christmas? Do you plan to include them in kind gestures? Have you thought about their financial status and if they will be able to fund Christmas? These are legitimate things to consider.

I also want you to realize that they are normal people. Your pastor may like a gift other than a giant KJV family Bible. His wife may want something other than a Beth Moore series, and his children might appreciate something other than Veggie Tales. I’m not knocking any of these things, but I want to bring to light that your pastor and family may very well have wanted to see Garth Brooks in concert last month, watch the latest movie in the theater, or spend a week at Dollywood. I have the title “Reverend” in front of my name, but I still like to watch Tyler Perry movies. I’m human and have a sense of humor. I guarantee your pastor and his family may also be human.

So, this Christmas, reach out to your pastor and family. Make sure they aren’t alone for Christmas. This year, many of them will be wearing themselves out having Christmas Eve and Christmas Day services. They might appreciate you bringing them a Christmas meal. They are your family too because of Christ. I challenge you to consider how you can be a blessing to your pastor, staff members, and their families year round.

9 thoughts on “How to Treat Your Pastor at Christmas

Add yours

  1. Thanks for the humorous input on this serious subject. We usually give some homemade things and a gift certificate for a restaurant. It is both harder a Nd easier in different ways in a smaller church like ours. Blessings to you and your family this Christmas

  2. Our pastors are family to us. Honoring them is so important! We will likely get them a gift card to their favorite store/restaurant, hang out with them during the week, and pretty much shower them with love. It’s what we do outside of Christmas. They are some of my most favorite people in the world.

  3. My heart broke when I read that you desire such presents from those to whom you minister God’s word per a salary. So many professing Christians today (“pastors” also) want to be able to love this world – walk and live in the ways of this world -and yet take hold of all the things of God. God’s word is that it cannot be done! May you receive this rebuke in the love of Christ, through whom it is sent: “Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.” (1 John 2:15). God bless you as you forsake the worldly and press into the living Word with everything that you have, that you, your family, and your pastorate may truly KNOW Him this Christmas.

    1. I apologize for any offense here. I would like to clarify I am not an active pastor so I am therefore not receiving a salary. People have taken it into their own hands to determine whether I should be a pastor because I experienced a divorce that was out of my hands. Some say that God uncalled me at that time with their misinterpretation of Scripture. I also haven’t been to anything other than a Christian movie and have no desire to go to Dollywood. The greater point is to love your pastor rather than alienate him.

  4. I truly enjoyed this post. Didn’t Jesus hang out with the “common folk?” How can you reach others and teach them about the Goodness of God if you only hang around or be with those that already knows of him? Going to a Garth Brooke concert as a pastor couldn’t do any harm. While there you may bump into someone and strike up a conversation about what it is you do and they be interested enough to come to your services. I personally feel that’s what’s wrong with most churches today. They do not try hard enough to reach the youth or those that may be interested in knowing more about God’s greatness. Instead, they stay among themselves. I am totally confused by the other comment made stating ” So many professing Christians today (“pastors” also) want to be able to love this world – walk and live in the ways of this world -and yet take hold of all the things of God. God’s word is that it cannot be done!” That statement totally confused me. Aren’t we to love one another, and thy neighbors? Which happen to be…those of the world! Stay strong in your faith and let him guide you! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

