What Do You Hate?

img_2121

I’m sure you’re reading this and thinking, “My momma taught me not to hate anything or anybody.” If we examine the Bible enough, we will see that there are some things we should hate. That may go against your nature, but the Bible trumps what we’ve been taught.

The weekend weather led to many church cancellations including ours, so I watched Pastor Steven Furtick online. He preached from Psalm 119:112-114 which says, “I have inclined my heart to perform Your statutes forever, to the very end. I hate the double-minded, but I love Your law. You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in Your word.” He said so much in the message, but I have asked myself what I hate.

Many of my readers know my story, so what I’m about to say will be of no surprise to you. I hate what my divorce did to my life. If you have been divorced, you may understand. I hate that many churches look at me as useless, that my kids live approximately 200 miles away, and that my financial status was horribly affected. I handle this well on some days, but these thoughts still torture me often. I do my best to keep these thoughts from allowing me to miss out on the fact that God has given me a good wife now, a precious 5-month old girl, and the blessing of His salvation, power, and presence in my life.

While I intended to draw attention to how we should hate evil, I know that someone reading this is in a situation you hate. A marriage or “romantic” relationship. The fact that a child has gone astray. A divorce. Poor health. Financial hardship. Sexual, physical, or emotional abuse.

The answer is found in these verses. We need to incline our heart to obedience. We intentionally choose the posture of our heart, hate evil to the point that it moves us to godly action (not knocking someone’s block off), hide (take shelter) in God’s shadow of protection, and hope in the Lord. Steven Furtick stated that our hope should not be in the path but in the promise. I can take no credit for this, but I wanted to share this truth from God’s Word as shared by one of His servants.

You don’t have to live in that place of hating some of your circumstances. You can find joy in the midst of it. It may be a slower journey for you, but please join me in this journey as I push through and cling to the God who is faithful to His promise.

4 thoughts on “What Do You Hate?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

