Delayed Obedience

I heard a statement a few years back that says “delayed obedience is still disobedience”. Oh, have I found that to be true. Many of us are procrastinators by nature. We easily justify our procrastination because we eventually did it. However, the principle is that we are to obey the moment we are given that command.

For some time, God has put a particular thing in my heart. I have come up with every excuse to delay obedience. I am to the point now that the conviction is so heavy. I cannot put it off any longer!

What has God told you to do that you have delayed? Is it the decision to surrender your life to Christ? Is it withholding your time, talents, and treasures from Him? Is it obeying the call to full-time Christian service? Meeting a ministry need in your church? What is it?

I promise you that you will be miserable until you do it. You can only put if off so long. People may criticize you and not understand your step of obedience, but you answer to God. Man’s opinion does not matter.

So, my friend, step out in faith today! God does not promise that it will be without opposition, but the satisfaction within your spirit in pleasing God is far greater than the feeling of guilt because you disobeyed.

4 thoughts on “Delayed Obedience

Add yours

  1. My pastor spoke about “delayed obedience is disobedience” and it made me realize that the more we put things on hold, the less we are gonna put effort towards it. I learned that the easy but hard way. I made my own battles and I complained but then a God reminded me that he gives us the things we “want” to show us that we don’t “need” those things, and that’s why obedience is important because we have to be willing to do what He calls us to do, and His commands are so simple, but yet, we get so caught up in doing our own thing. I really enjoyed this post, thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

