Uncomfortable 


I am sitting here dwelling on some things that are uncomfortable. For my family, it is a little bit warmer in the house because the AC decided to have an issue we will need to have examined. I think about my supervisor who is recovering from a broken hand (a pain I can’t imagine). I think about people who live in fear tonight of abuse and violence. Those who are sick and will only get worse. The list goes on. My heart is deeply moved, and I pray for these and others who are uncomfortable for one reason or another. 

Despite the extra warmth of the house, I am thankful to have electricity to operate fans. I am thankful to have a roof over my head. I am thankful to have a job and coworkers I enjoy. I am thankful to be called to plant a church in a community I love and long to see the denominational and ethnic divide demolished by the power of God. I am thankful for the people God has given me to pastor and pour my life into. I am thankful for my wife and children. I am thankful for a dependable vehicle. I am thankful for second chances. I am thankful for the blood of Jesus that has washed away my sin. I am thankful for good people in my life. I am thankful for parents who sacrificed for me and other family members who have encouraged me. I am thankful for those who encouraged me to not forsake my calling when the enemy wanted me on the shelf. 

Some of you who are reading this may be dealing with some minor issue like the AC going out, and it would change your perspective if you would simply count your blessings. Others of you will struggle with counting your blessings because life has been a series of difficulties for you. I will not condemn you for your struggles. I pray that God will somehow reveal Himself so sweetly to you and bring healing to your life to the point where you can begin to see the blessings. 

Father, I know that many who read this are walking through things I will never understand. Although I can empathize, I will never grasp the pain, guilt, or whatever they are carrying today. I take great joy in knowing that You understand their every heartache and can dry every tear. May each reader find encouragement and experience Your sweet love that is demonstrated through the sacrifice of Your Son, the Lord Jesus Christ, on the cross. I thank You that Jesus conquered death and lives today so that all who read this who have placed their faith and trust in Him can experience His resurrection power. May their discomfort be replaced by the sweet comfort of the Holy Spirit. For I ask this in the sweet name of the Lord Jesus. Amen.

4 thoughts on “Uncomfortable 

Add yours

  1. Thanks for reminding us how many things there are to be thankful for.
    And it’s all thanks to God who watches over us.
    Great reminder Matthew!!

    Rolain

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

