The Joys of a Pastor

Yesterday, I posted about the pressure that leads to many walking away from ministry. I don’t want to make it all sound like doom and gloom, so tonight I want to address some highlights of being a pastor.

  1. Seeing people come from death to life. There is no greater joy than to see someone who is far from Christ choose to leave their life of sin to follow Him.
  2. Baptizing new believers. My baptism stories are pretty funny to me. My first baptism was for a guy who tried to dunk himself before I finished speaking. Another was a guy who was a good bit taller than I, so I struggled to get him back out of the water. Nevertheless, it was a great joy.
  3. Seeing people grow in their faith. Discipleship is my heart, so it thrills my soul to see people light up as they discover new truth.
  4. Witnessing people with a passion to serve. They understand that serving is not just for “professionals” (if you want to call us that). All believers are called to serve.
  5. Walking alongside someone who is called into ministry as a worship leader, pastor, etc. I have tried to invest in those and share the highs and lows. 
  6. Ordaining someone into ministry. I had this joy when I pastored my first church. This man is my father’s age, but he is still a tremendous blessing thanks to Facebook. 
  7. Being a church planter. This is not a joy for everyone. For me, it has been awesome seeing those who were once disconnected from the body of Christ get reconnected and on fire for the Lord. I know that we have just begun to see what God will do in and through us. Nevertheless, it is a joy to see people find freedom and joy in Christ.

If you are a pastor, what would you add to this list? Pastors surrender their lives solely for Jesus with no promise of earthly return. When we see these visual blessings, it gives us great joy. 

3 thoughts on “The Joys of a Pastor

Add yours

  1. I love to see a hurt congregations healed and ready again to be used by God, I guess you can see my calling as a Transitional (intentional interim) Pastor in what I just said!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

