Common Courtesy Rant

I have been working on recruiting, screening, and training volunteers for work. It is an enjoyable task, but it reminds me of the fact that some people lack common courtesy. I understand if you have an emergency and cannot follow through on a commitment. For those who need it, I am going to offer some free advice for those who didn’t get the common courtesy course in school. 

  1. If you have an appointment and do not plan on keeping it, contact the person with whom you have an appointment so he/she can make more valuable use of his/her time other than waiting for a no-show.
  2. Don’t volunteer to do something you don’t want to do. I can’t tell you how many times I have had people express interest in doing something when I didn’t ask. I never expected them to do it, but they almost broke their neck to offer help and kept telling me how much they would help only to not be available for contact when the time came to help. 

What would you add to that? I’m discovering that some people are not taught well and others are just lazy. For those who don’t think about these things, I don’t want to be the one who is guilty of leaving them uninformed.

One thought on “Common Courtesy Rant

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

