Strange Requests: Male, Flute-Playing Snake Charmer Wanted

We all get strange requests. Thanks to social media, people proposition us for dates (or inappropriate acts). People ask us to do odd things simply because they have an unusual sense of humor. A friend of mine told me about a lady in his church who requested prayer for a character in a soap opera. You can’t make this stuff up (something we also frequently say among our hospice staff).

I am on a site for music teachers because I offer piano, vocal, organ, and flute instruction on the side. Yesterday, I received a strange email that included the following:

Hi I’m having an Arabian Nights theme costume party and looking to hire a flute player that can play middle eastern music and act as snake charmer. I can purchase costume and fake snakes in basket…not sure if you can do this or if you can recommend someone who can play flute male preferred in my local area? 

I’m used to receiving requests for instruction NOT THIS! At first, I laughed at the thought of me, an overweight pastor, practically posing as a male belly dancer and playing the fluteπŸ˜‚. If I knew someone in that area who had fun doing this kind of thing, I would make a recommendation.

To spiritualize this, I don’t mess with snakes. Not dead, alive, fake…NONE OF THEM! Don’t you remember what happened to the first couple in history that messed with a snake? We’re in a big mess thanks to them. You can go messing with that all you want, but this boy ain’t messin’ with a snake!

🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 🐍 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

