When God Says No


From the time we are born, there is one word we hate hearing – the word “No!” We don’t mind saying it, but the devil comes out of us when we hear it. This generation hates it more than ever because we have this crazy idea that God is our fairy godmother rather than our sovereign Heavenly Father who knows and wants what is best for us. God has told me “no” on several occasions, and I am coming to accept it more than I used to.

On September 6, 2015, I resigned a vocational ministry position. By the end of the week, I heard from four different churches. If God opens the door, I will at least explore it. With each situation, God said “no”. I had a fifth contact that I pursued a little more heavily after I was pursued, but God said no by the pastor never bothering to call me back like he promised. I have no doubt why God didn’t send me there.

So why does God say “no”? He’s preparing you for something better! It may not be your definition of better, but it is in the mind and heart of God. We struggle to accept it, but it is always for our good. God is developing us. We were born to fulfill His purpose and plan which is so much better than ours. When we grow up emotionally and spiritually, we find the grace to accept it and find God’s “no” to but so much sweeter than our selfishness.

5 thoughts on “When God Says No

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

