Thoughts on the Presidential Election


As many of you know by now, I am a conservative. I make no bones about it. Do I love liberals? Yes! Do I agree with them? No! Can I be civil and lovingly disagree? Yes!

What I am noticing now more than ever is the fact that my ultra-conservative friends just can’t unite in regard to this election. Many are already throwing up their hands in surrender. I want to say a few things about this.

  1. We are not voting for a pastor; we are voting for a president. I have yet to see but maybe one candidate throughout history that is a strong Christian and is as narrowly conservative as some would like. I know that ultra-conservatives think that they have to always point out the error they see in everyone, but please look in the mirror first. As conservative as Dr. Robert Jeffress, pastor of First Baptist in Dallas, TX is, he still endorsed the more conservative party’s nominee and stated the same point I made. You can find plenty of churches around with pastors who are as narrow as you. This country needs leadership, even if the candidate doesn’t dot his I’s and cross his t’s like you.
  2. We need our voice heard like never before. It’s not time to sit home and pout because your favorite candidate didn’t get the nomination. Don’t refuse to vote and then complain about the state of our country!
  3. It’s time for similarly minded people to unite, even if we don’t agree. I have seen this toxic mindset pour forth from the church. If the church of the Lord Jesus Christ can’t unite, why do we sit back and wonder about our country?

This country is at a crossroads, and the American people will choose its fate in November. Mark this truth down – only Jesus Christ can make America great again!!! God can use people, but the people of this nation must live as though Jesus is King. He is King! 

What are you going to do? Whine? Complain? What about pray? “If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves and pray, and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land” (II Chronicles 7:14). 

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Presidential Election

Add yours

  1. Historian David Barton says on a regular basis; if we want leaders in government who are Christian, we need to pray. Not just currently but for the future. We need to pray that our children will grow as men and women who serve God and be used in our government to glorify God. This is not a direct quote of his, but along those lines. But it’s true what you mentioned, we can complain or pray. I’m inclined to believe God is more pleased with our prayer 🙂

  2. I agree. I had been a Conservative Democrat but was moving towards voting Republican because I liked what John Kasich stood for. All I know is that I can’t vote for Trump.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

